Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn


Tribune Photo By Ned Bekavac

Tribune Photo By Ned Bekavac

The Guelph Storm's Zac Leslie hoists the J. Ross Robertson Cup, given to the OHL champion, in front of an adoring home crowd on Friday night.

We are the champions!

The Guelph Storm are Ontario Hockey League champs.

The Storm stormed back from a 3-1 deficit to beat North Bay 4-3 Friday night to win the Ontario Hockey League championship series four games to one.

Kerby Rychel scored twice in the game’s last five minutes to lift the locals to the victory in the game, played in front of an enthusiastic crowd of 5,015 at the Sleeman Centre in Guelph. The game winner came with 27 seconds left on the clock as the Storm and their fans celebrated wildly.

Also scoring for Guelph were Brock McGinn and Matt Finn.

The Storm last won the OHL title 10 years ago, in the 2003-2004 season.

The Storm now move on to compete for the national junior hockey title, the Memorial Cup, starting Friday May 16 in London, Ont.

For more on Friday’s OHL title win, see Tuesday’s Tribune.

Comments are closed.

Guelph Top Jobs